Finland Times

Wednesday, 29 November, 2023
Home NATIONALKeskusta, Vasemmistoliitto nominate 17 candidates each for EU polls
« Previous News
Mon, 25 Nov, 2013 03:54:41 AM
FTimes-STT Report, November 25
Keskusta Chairman Juha Sipilä (left) discussed with Juha Rehulan at the national executive committee meeting in Kuopio on Sunday. Photo - Lehtikuva.
The Keskusta (Centre Party) and Vasemmistoliitto (Left Alliance) on Sunday decided to nominate 17 candidates each for the upcoming European parliamentary polls scheduled for late May 2014.
National executive committee of the Keskusta at a meeting held in Kuopio selected the candidates including some incumbent lawmakers of the EU and Finnish parliaments and journalist for the polls.
Anneli Jäätteenmäki and Hannu Takkula, who are the lawmakers of EU parliament will contest the polls this year again while Paavo Väyrynen will vie for returning to the European Parliament.
The lawmakers in Finnish parliament, Elsi Katainen and Mirja Vehkaperä , former lawmaker Timo Kaunisto and the former editor of the Helsingin Sanomat, Michael Pentikainen are among other candidates.
The party, however, is yet to finalise the name of three out of 17 and the names will be selected later, party sources said.
Left Alliance chairman Paavo Arhinmäki the party's National Executive and the parliamentary group at a joint meeting on Saturday in Helsinki. Photo - Lehtikuva.
Meanwhile, the Vasemmistoliitto (Left alliance) at a meeting in Helsinki also decided to nominate 17 candidates for the EU parliamentary polls.
The party leaders at the meeting said that they are trying to get position in the  EU parliament again.
The party leaderships are targeting to bag at least two membership in the EU parliament this year, said the party leaders at a press conference.
The Minister of Transport Merja Kyllönen, lawmaker Annika Lapintie, Kari Uotila, Eila Tiainen,  Erkki Virtanen and the party’s youth forum president, Li Andersson were among others in the list of candidates.
Some candidates out of 17 are still to be selected and the final list of all the candidates will be completed at the beginning of next year, said party sources.
« Previous News
comments powered by Disqus
More News

Copyright © 2023 All rights reserved
Developed By -