Finland Times

Tuesday, 21 September, 2021
Home NATIONALStubb names 3 new ministers
« Previous News
Mon, 23 Jun, 2014 04:38:20 PM
FTimes-STT Report, June 23
File picture of newly nominated ministers Laura Räty (left), Petteri Orpo and Lenita Toivakka. Photo Lehtikuva.
The prime minister designate Alexander Stubb named three new ministers on Monday.
Petteri Orpo,the chair of the parliamentary group of Kansallinen Kokoomus (National Coalition) party has been named the Minister of Agriculture and Forestry replacing Jari Koskinen.Orpo has served as an MP since 2007.
He also served as a special adviser to the the former Minister of Interior Ville Itälä. Before the NCP leadership election, Stubb stated that he respects Orpo's decision to support Jan Vapaavuori.
Upon his appointment as a minister, Orpo said that he wants to concentrate on what can be done in to promote Finnish food and food-culture as well as food hygiene and safety in the coming ten months.
The biggest surprise was the appointment of Laura Räty as the head of the Social Affairs and Health docket previously held by Paula Risikko.
Räty had been serving as a Deputy Mayor of Helsinki for the past three years. Stubb described Räty who is trained as doctor as an expert in social and health affairs and a firm negotiator.
Räty lost the previous parliamentary election in 2011 to Lasse Männistö by just 27 votes.
Risikko will take over the ministry of Transport and Local Government from Henna Virkkunen who heads to Brussels to become a member of the European Parliamnet.
Risikko was herself in favour in taking over the portfolio.
Lenita Toivakka is the new minister of European Affairs and Foreign Trade taking over the docket from Stubb.
Jan Vapaavuori will remain as the Minister of Economic Affair. His position was not affected during the cabinet reshuffle within the NCP.
« Previous News
comments powered by Disqus
More News

Copyright © 2021 All rights reserved
Developed By -